The art of cleaning a record. What do you use, special techniques, etc.?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Steve Hoffman, Aug 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host Thread Starter

Let us know. I'm intrigued by a few comments Michael Fremer made to me today regarding vinyl cleaning.
    ------------
    "Steve,

There's no need to clean before every play. I'd find that unacceptable. I clean a record before first play, whether new or used, move it to a rice paper sleeve and then only clean again if my greasy fingerprints get on it....

I use either a Loricraft or VPI 17F depending on whether or not I'm in a hurry. The Loricraft takes longer but each cleaning you get a fresh pickup surface by moving a spool of thread....

I also use LAST preservative after cleaning. I have been using it since the early 1980s and if anyone thinks it leaves "noise" they need to hear my original Mo-Fis from the late '70s or the DCCs from last decade....no noise, no wear.."

Michael F.

----------------------------------------

So:

How do you clean, how often, what machine, etc.?

Can you post your info here?

Thanks

2. I have washed them at the sink and hand dried them for years
    after reading the effectiveness of a wet cleaning. Naturally,
    this led to a couple accidents as I could not 100% dry the records
    in this matter (even witht he best towels, etc.), I really DID need
    a vacuum system. So, after 20 years of procrastination I bought
    the KAB machine this year. It hooks up to your existing
    vacuum cleaner (that has a hose). They send you a small bottle of
    the Nitty Gritty fluid, which smells slightly of alcohol. It's been a
    98% success since then. Clicky, unplayable records now saved.
    I buy a lot of used yard sale or thrift store vinyl, and I look for
    major scratches or too many scuffs around the spindle hole as
    indicators of how much it has been played.