"Clair de Lune", please recommend a rendition...

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by sound chaser, Dec 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sound chaser

sound chaser Senior Member Thread Starter

....I have a Jacques Rouvier piano solo version but I'm looking for a more 'orchestral' version of this astounding piece of music, hope I'm making sense here :) thanks.

2. canyelles

canyelles Forum Resident

I don't think there are too many orchestral versions.

There is one on a Naxos CD called something like 'Chill out with Debussy'

3. Dinsdale

Dinsdale Dixie Fried

I have an orchestral arrangement on a CBS Masterworks Dinner Classics CD comp, "The French Album"; I see it's still available on Amazon.

I'm no Classical expert, but this is some of my favorite music of all time.

4. Andrew

Andrew Chairman of the Bored

5. Hawkman

Hawkman Supercar Gort Staff

Try the Tomita version on Snowflakes Are Dancing. Yes, it's electronic, but it might just be the thing that you are looking for. It has a very 'orchestral' feel to it. You can still find the surround version also.

6. kevinsinnott

kevinsinnott Forum Coffeeologist

Leopold Stokowski did what many believe to be the definitive version. He did it for EMI (vintage 50s sound) and DECCA (more upfront Phase 4 sound). I prefer the EMI myself, although both a sumptuous.

His arrangement has been recorded by conductors on both TELARC and CHANDOS labels, both audiophile quality. The TELARC disc has many other similar, beutiful pieces. The CHANDOS disc has other Stokowski arrangements, each with his brand of style. The Telarc is easier to find; the Chandos is worth searching for.

Hope this helps.

7. Jamie Tate

Jamie Tate New Member

The version I love is THIS one. Eugene Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra do Clair de Lune. Very emotional and sounds great.