"All Things Must Pass" to be re-released on 3LP vinyl and 96Khz/24 bit digital part 2

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by darkmatter, Nov 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darkmatter

darkmatter Gort Astronomer Staff Thread Starter

2. rburly

rburly Sitting comfortably with Item 9

Thanks for the new thread. :)

3. TommyTunes

TommyTunes Senior Member

Got the download using MS Explorer no problem downloading or unzipping the files.

4. saundr00

saundr00 Bobby

Playing mine now. Sounds great.

EDIT: This is my first time hearing this full album.

5. Jason Manley

Jason Manley Senior Member

6. Mike D'Aversa

Mike D'Aversa Senior Member

Lucky bastard!

My first time was in the mid-90's, on a horrible NR Capitol cd. :sigh:

Actually, it's a lot to take in the first time around. So many songs. So many of the tracks having countless things going on simultaneously. Expect to feel exhausted by the end. And maybe even a tad overwhelmed/disappointed at the lack of variety you would find on a Beatles record (with John's "weird" songs, and Paul's "granny" songs). But don't mistake/confuse that for lack of quality (a bit like the Stones' 'Exile On Main Street' in that regard, except with less "filler"). Plus, the next time you're ready to listen again, you'll hear something you'd swear hadn't been there the first time round.

IMO, the single best double album of all time (the third 'Apple Jam' LP was just a bonus), at least when it comes to the ratio of "quality" tunes vs "filler". And, in that respect, superior to even the 'White Album' (IMO).

P.S. - Don't feel guilty about not liking the 'Apple Jam' - few people ever listen more than once, and see it as a dated indulgence of its time...

IronWaffle likes this.
  7. Mike D'Aversa

Thanks!