The Beatles "Abbey Road" Japanese LP Pressing - AP-8815 / YEX 749 & 750

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by apesmu, Jul 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apesmu

apesmu Forum Resident Thread Starter

hi all,

The Beatles "Abbey Road" Japanese LP Pressing - AP-8815 / YEX 749 & 750.

just picked up a mint copy of this LP with the above mentioned dead wax info. my question is, did i score one of the better Japanese pressings?

if there is anything else that is needed, please let me know and i can attach photos, more deadwax info, etc.

spinning it right now, and it sounds very nice - then again, nothing much else to compare it to.

(very quiet vinyl, too! )

thanx all!

:righton:

2. apesmu

BUMP

3. sungshinla

sungshinla Vinyl and Forum Addict

Is this RED vinyl?

I am not a Beatles expert or a Japanese Beatles expert but from what I understand, your cat. no. is that of a red vinyl release (original Japanese pressing). This goes for good money.

4. PMC7027

PMC7027 Forum Hall Of Fame

The YEX 749 and YEX 750 identify the EMI master tape codes, not the pressing information. There should be ore information in the dead wax which identifies the specific pressing that you have. Yes, the AP-8815 is the original serial number for the Japanese Abbey Road LP. The LP was available with that serial number in both red and black vinyl. The red vinyl, of course, was the standard EMI Japan limited first edition.

5. apesmu

hi PMC7027,

here's all of the deadwax info on my copy that i can find:

side 1:

YEX-749 1S3 (with a small 1, 23 and some kind of circle with a squiggly line in it)

these are on about the top left hand of the Apple label, if you are looking at it stem up

5-7W

this is on about the right hand side of the Apple label, if you are looking at it stem up

side 2:

YEX-750 2S (with a small 23 and some kind of circle with a squiggly line in it)