Computer Hard Drive Question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by portisphish, Feb 26, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

He said he wasn't interested in Linux.

2. Grant

The OP said nothing about a separate partition. Remember, the OP isn't on the same level of expertise as we are, so I configured my answer to that.

3. portisphish

portisphish Forum Resident Thread Starter

You're right I'm not an expert. I have only built one computer and that was 5-6 years ago. I did partition my hard drive then and put the OS on a seperate partition.

Partitioning is pretty basic.

I do agree that windows and a gui is overkill, but it might be kind of nice. I am also leaning more towards this build being BOTH a music player and a ripping station. I am comfortable with DBPoweramp and foobar2000 for these tasks, and I am confident that I can achieve bit-perfect output with a windows XP install.

I know I need to backup and I will.

Thanks for all the suggestions.

4. rito25

rito25 New Member

For CD rips I like eac but that can be confusing to use.
    also since it seems like you have to computers you could always rip on one computer and then transfer it to the other computer over ethernet. Would cut down on noise.
    And look in to the linux option, can be confusing but once you get its easy and would be super quick and effective.

5. theanswer337

theanswer337 Forum Resident

I use a Windows XP laptop, loaded with dBPoweramp and Foobar2000. I have all of my audio files on two Western Digital 1TB external hard drives (Main and back-up). I have been very happy with the results and reliability. My next step is to acquire an outboard DAC. Unfortunately, my laptop isn't equipped with a Firewire output. I will have to live with USB for now.

6. OldCoder

OldCoder Well-Known Member In Memoriam