FRANK SINATRA comp., "Nothing but the Best", released 5/13/08

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by PaulKTF, Feb 19, 2008.

1. johnny33

johnny33 New Member

I went ahead and got this. Sounds brightish to me- that's my first impression.

2. zen archer

zen archer Forum Resident

On 'Fly me to the Moon' you can hear Frank snapping his fingers

3. DJ WILBUR

DJ WILBUR The Cappuccino Kid

its a beautiful thing :D

4. Ian Bradley

Ian Bradley Forum Resident

Nothing but the best

I'm no Sinatra expert - and definitely not in terms of audio issues - but fromreading about the album over at the Sinatra Family Forum, I would say that what we are getting on this CD is closer to the original recordings than what has previously been released - or, at the very least, is no more tweaked or manufactured than what we have seen before. The ending of Come fly with me is an alternate intercut, for example, but, then, so was the version issued on A man and his music and its appearance on numerous anthologies since then. On one track - The best is yet to come - possibly what we have is the original take and all the other versions which have been issued since have had an edited intercut inserted at one point.

Maybe the CD is 'bright' - and I'm not sure how 'loud' - but I suppose engineers always have to have an eye on the market place and the 'modern' sound of CDs. I recommend this CD without reservation. It is only the beginning, I hope, of Frank Sinatra Enterprises. It is a'greatest hits' aimed at the general public, commemorating ten years since Sinatra's death. Given this (and given that, for example, all Capitol could do to observe the anniversary was push out another re-issue of a tired compilation of songs associated with movies), the love, care and attention to detail that has gone into this thing is a credit to all concerned.