Best cd-r blanks for audio cd recorder

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by TimB, Nov 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TimB

TimB Pop, Rock and Blues for me! Thread Starter

I have 2 audio cd recorders. One is a Philips CDR950 the other is a Sony CDW-10. Both need to use the audio cd-r blanks. What are considered among the best out there?

2. MikeP5877

MikeP5877 V/VIII/MCMLXXVII

I've been using Fuji All-Purpose CDR's for nearly five years with no problems. I get the 50 pack spindles for about $14 through the wholesale club.

3. When I first bought it a bunch of years back, my Pioneer 509 made a whole bunch of coasters with Memorex discs. I then contacted Pioneer to ask their suggestion, and the tech suggested I use TDK. I have done so ever since, and have quit making coasters.

Of course, YMMV.

Brian

4. Do a search on CD-Rs. There have been threads on this. Good luck.

5. Paul G

Paul G Senior Member

6. billdcat

billdcat Well-Known Member

I just bought a package of Maxell's Audio Cd-r 's,
    the package says "Made In Japan", so I think
    these are T-Y's.

This set was the five different color labels type,
    but the strange thing about this one is that
    the Green disc's turned out to be DVD-R's.

7. Bass

Bass Forum Resident

I like TDK's too. No coasters with Plextor drives.

8. sicksteve

sicksteve New Member

On my MarantzPro CDR631, which is made to take data or aaudio Cd-R's, Memorex data discs always work. Most TDK's and maxell's do, as well. But even within a 50pk batch, there are a few that prompt a "OPC Error" or "USE AUDIO CD" message

9. sicksteve

sicksteve New Member

When I had the Pioneer 509, I read some where where you got trick the player into accepting cheap CD-R's. But the Marantz has defeatable SCMS, which allows me to copySMCS-encoded discs

10. Interesting...I never heard that. Since I do not burn all that many CD's, I guess its not that big a financial burden to buy the Music Only discs.

Brian