Yes Japanese HDCDs vs. Rhino Remasters

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Barnabas Collins, Feb 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Barnabas Collins

Barnabas Collins Senior Member Thread Starter

I was really excited to win the entire Yes HDCD collection from Ebay a few years ago. Those Japanese mini sleeves sure are beautiful. And that HDCD insignia means audiophile mastering quality, right? WRONG! Loud, hissy, distorted (you should hear Fragile, yeesh!) and fatiguing, I sold all my Joe Gastwirt remasters in anticipation of the Yes HDCD collection so I can't do any kind of A/B anymore.

How about the recent Rhino remasters? Are they any good or should I just hunt for UK vinyl?

2. Norbert Becker

Norbert Becker Senior Member

I have heard all sorts of Yes. I own the MFSL LP of Close To The Edge. The Rhinos sound great, have bonus tracks, and are cheap. You can't beat that!

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I never heard the Japanese CD's or the Gastwirts, but I have three of the Rhinos, and I think they sound excellent.

4. Jamie Tate

Jamie Tate New Member

Get the Rhinos. I have every CD release of these albums (vinyl too) and the Rhinos are among the best.

The only Gastwirt that I think is slightly better is Fragile. I have the Gold CD but hear the aluminum is the same mastering.

5. Jamie Tate

Jamie Tate New Member

Oh, forgot to say the JPN CD's are nasty. Feed them to your pet goat and wait for them at the other end.

driverdrummer likes this.
  6. JWB

JWB New Member

Rael -

The Rhino's are excellent! Much better than the mini-sleeves and the Gastwirts!

7. Tim H.

Tim H. Forum Resident