Kasim Sulton talks about Todd Rundgren, Meatloaf and his upcoming PPV

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by butch, Jan 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. butch

butch Senior Member Thread Starter

Kasim Sulton: Multi-instrumentalist/singer/songwriter talks about his career, Utopia, Todd Rundgren, Joan Jett , Meatloaf and his upcoming Pay Per View

You started on guitar is it true that your dad brought you a Gretsch?

Yeah, well like most other kids, I saw The Beatles on the Ed Sullivan Show. That kind of cinched it for me. That's what I wanted to do and no matter what I was going to become a guitar player.

Who inspired you to start playing bass?

The only reason I started playing bass was because there were a couple of guitar players that moved to Staten Island from Brooklyn,two kids and they were starting a band. They were like the two hotshot guitar players in the neighborhood. They didn't need another guitar player they needed a bass player. Rather than say " OK well fine have fun with your band", I decided that it would behoove me to switch over to bass to play with them.

The bass you got was that a Hofner copy?

No, it was an EB-0, a Jack Bruce EB-0.

Who were your musical heroes growing up?

I was a big Beatles fan growing up like I said, Jeff Beck, Led Zeppelin,I kind of tolerated The Stones(laughs),The Who, all of the British Invasion bands.

What types of groups did you play in growing up in Staten Island?

I played in garage bands really for the most part, I did my best to find cover bands. Not really any specific type of band , whatever music was popular at the time that was what we were doing. Like if it was Chicago or Yes,James Gang or Led Zeppelin, we would run the gamut. We would do everything we possibly could.

Were you songwriting at that time?

A little bit not much. I was an assistant engineer in a studio in New York so along with being the gofer boy I would get some free time and try my hand at writing.