Screen Captures of Films / Television Shows (Copyright issue?)

Discussion in 'Visual Arts' started by Matt W., Mar 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Matt W.

Matt W. Forum Resident Thread Starter

Just wondering about a copyright issue here. Let's say I take a screen capture of Buddy Holly performing on The Ed Sullivan Show or a screen capture of 2001 and use it on a web site. Is that infringing upon copyright in any way?

2. Images like that could fall under the fair use concept--i.e., that if you aren't profiting from it but are just using it for personal use it might be OK. Then again, I'm not an expert on this either but that's what I've always assumed. If you seek to distribute it, etc. it might be an issue.

3. seriousfun

seriousfun Forum Resident

Not fair use.

Someone owns the exclusive Right to Copy, as implemented by the US Congress under powers implemented in the Constitution. And you are infringing on that.

IANAL

4. -Alan

-Alan Senior Member

This Honeymooners fan site has a bunch of fun screen captures.

Attached Files:

5. Vidiot

Vidiot Now in 4K HDR!

Not only are the images copyrighted by the people who own the film/TV show, but the celebrity's own image may have underlying rights that belong to their estate.

For example, with the above Honeymooners clips, you might have to get permission from Viacom (or whoever owns the show) as well as Jackie Gleason's estate and Art Carney's estates. In the case of Buddy Holly, his wife is known to be fairly litigious and could very well go after you.

The reality is that anybody can sue you if they want to and make your life miserable, even if their rights are tenuous. Sometimes, this winds up being a "he who has the deepest pockets wins" situation.

6. His Masters Vice

His Masters Vice W.C. Fields Forever